Graphika Manila 2014

To kickoff the year, my best friend and I attended the yearly anticipated Graphika Manila Design Conference.

2014-02-01 13.14.43

2014-02-01 13.12.52

 YAY!!

This year, the conference was held at SMX Convention Center.

2014-02-01 12.43.56

2014-02-01 13.12.25 2014-02-01 12.44.07

And well, as you can see, there were so many delegates who attended the conference. We had to wait in line most of the time, but it was fine.

2014-02-01 17.16.41

If you were going to ask me though, to be honest, I am not that pleased with the conference this year (mostly because of the venue + system). Last year, the conference was held at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC). Although the place was smaller compared to the SMX convention center, I found the PICC venue much better. Primarily because it has a stadium sitting like arrangement, which allowed conference goers to enjoy the talks and presentation better. As for the system, since they did not send the ordered tickers via courier service, most people had to wait in line (for a long while) before the program started.

As for the roster of speakers, I think this year, they focused more on visual effects and motion graphics. Compared to last year, they had speakers from a wider field, which even covered Benja Harney, who’s a self taught paper engineer. Graphika Manila 2013 covered a broader scope of design for everyone, which included animation, visual effects, graphics design, and crafts. Well to each his own, I think I am just bias because I am more inclined to the field of animation, crafts and design (or maybe I am just bias too because I loved Jessica Walsh and James White’s presentation, too much last year). Added to this, I am not really into visual effects, though I can pretty much say it’s interesting.

Well, now on Graphika Manila’s 9th year, they were able to feature the following artists: Dvein for Animation and Live Action, Sara Blake (a.k.a. ZSO) for Illustration and Graphic Design, Ash Thorp for Illustration and Motion Graphics, The Mill for Visual Effects, Isabel Gatuslao for Identity and Graphic Design, and Jessica Hische for lettering and Graphic Design.

Here are some of their works shown during their conference talk. From all of the speakers this year, I think I can relate to Sara Blake’s art the most. The intricacy and her attention to detail is just amazing. But aside from her, I loved Jessica Hische and Isabel Gatuslao’s presentation as well. As for the others, I loved it also equally. But not as much as I will though, since I am not into visual effects and motion graphics. However, in my defense, Dvein, Ash Thorp, and The Mill’s presentation was pretty cool too. If only I can do those types of art, I will. They were just too good. Too good. TOO GOOD. hahaha. Though Dvein’s way of depicting animation and live action, stood the most for me. They surprised me with their attention to detail, plus their presentation was so entertaining. Wit and charm, my folks. Wit and charm, those son of a pitches (they really did call / refer to themselves as that).

Sorry if the photos are unclear/ too far/ have random heads sticking out, haha. Sadly, the venue did not have a stadium seating arrangement for us to see the whole thing clearly. We sat quite far from the screen and stage itself to take clearer pictures, but overall it was okay.

2014-02-01 11.37.412014-02-01 11.37.33

TED logo redefined by Sara Blake (ZSO).

2014-02-01 13.42.082014-02-01 13.43.08

Some visual effects  for the Iron Man film by Ash Thorp.

2014-02-01 15.55.34

Lettering by Jessica Hische.

Well that’s about it, I can say overall we still enjoyed. Looking forward to next year’s Graphika Manila– which I bet is going to be BIG since they are going to celebrate their 10th year anniversary already.

What’s next for me though?

Right now, I am trying to work with a collab project + business for my art. Aside from these, I hope to be able to go ‘art hopping’ more this year. Going to post some of my art bucketlists soon– which will hopefully contain all the galleries I hope to see plus, some upcoming art events that I am interested to go to. But for now, I guess next on the list for me is to visit the upcoming Art Fair Philippines 2014.

Hoping to start the year right with more creativity! Make more good art!

2014-02-01 17.27.35

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

