Painting on a Blank Canvas

YES. GUESS WHAT!

I can officially say that I survived my freshman year in college! WOO.

Although it was a pretty tough year for me, I believe I still have lots to be thankful for. 🙂

This year for me is all about acceptance.

It was all about freedom– freedom from my own vulnerability. It was all about change– embracing whatever was given to me. It was all about seeing things in a new perspective– overcoming issues of insecurities. These were all the challenges I had to face and I’m glad I can say, that I was able to surpass them.

It wasn’t easy but it was all worth it.

Okay. First, I won’t be a hypocrite here and say everything was pretty much perfect.

Because, oh. believe me, it wasn’t. I really had a hard time dealing with everything. Freshman year was a total whirlwind. From family problems and issues to school related activities and responsibilities, I couldn’t really find the right balance to manage everything well at the same time. I wanted to excel: get a whooping grade, be in the dean’s list, manage to still fit in the criteria for Ateneo’s Junior Term Abroad (JTA), be active in orgs and make an overall good impression in college. So, did I indeed achieve all that? Well, assessing my year, I’d say, NO. Really. I didn’t get in the dean’s list. But I’d still say I got whooping grades– haha, whooping in a way because, it wasn’t as high as I hoped it would be.  But, It was okay at least I’m still qualified for JTA, a very good news for me. 🙂 My org related activities are going great? I guess. I may not be that active in my home org (hehe), but I think I’m starting to be active in my other orgs. I was blessed enough to be given the opportunity to lead and I can say I’m really enjoying it. I’m hoping second year will be better!:)

Although I’m still not quite sure if my course is indeed the right one for me, I made a choice to still stay.
Because I know I can. 🙂 I know second year will be better. It will. 🙂 No more comparisons. No more downs. The only competitor I have here is myself. I’ll try harder.

For all that’s said and done, at least I know I tried my best. My friend was right. WE did try our best, second sem was hell but heck, we survived. We can’t say we COULD have tried harder, because we know we already did. What matters, in the end, is that we tried. Even if we didn’t completely reap what we sowed, OHWELL. There’s always next year.

So cheer’s to the past! and hello future!

to making old memories and friendships last 🙂 —

to making new ones! 🙂 —

here’s to a happy summer and a better soph year ahead!

__________________________________________________________________

sorry guys! no art post for today though! 😦 But i’m working on something. :> hihi. posting some pictures soon on my next post!:)

God bless guys!

One thought on “Painting on a Blank Canvas

Leave a Reply

